The Palm Beach County Community Services Department (CSD) has contracted with the Legal Aid Society of Palm Beach County, Inc. and Florida Rural Legal Services, Inc. to provide county residents with free legal representation and assistance in handling landlord/tenant matters and past due payments through the Rapid Response Eviction Assistance Project (RREAP). The program is part of the CARES Act COVID-19.

Through the COVID-19 RREAP, the agencies will assist individuals who have received a three-day notice or demand for rent from their landlord, been served with an eviction lawsuit, or who need help understanding the eviction process. The services include:

• pre-suit mediation between landlords and tenants

• legal advice regarding the eviction process

• referrals for rental assistance

• preparation of responses to an eviction lawsuit

• assistance in negotiating repayment plans, and

• court representation.

The COVID-19 RREAP is designed to respond to the housing crisis created by the COVID-19 pandemic by mediating disagreements between tenants and property owners. Through this program, parties will be able to construct payment plans, temporary rent reductions, deferred payments or other creative solutions to prevent evictions and ultimately homelessness.

The program term is from Aug. 1 through Dec. 30, 2020, and participants can receive up to $10,000 in rental assistance. Eligibility requirements for the program include:

• rental unit must be located in Palm Beach County

• tenant’s income is under 140% of Area Median Income

Applicants will need documentation to qualify for the program:

• proof of U.S. Citizenship or legal residents (per CARES Act regulations)

• documentation proving hardship is directly related to the COVID-19 pandemic, such as evidence of loss of income, reduction in hours, or unemployment due to the COVID-19 pandemic that contributed to the missed rental payments, and

• an eviction notice (three-day notice or 30-day notice for CARES Act covered parties);

Individuals facing eviction may call the Legal Aid Society of Palm Beach County’s Rapid Response Eviction Project at (561) 655-8944, ext. 328 or Florida Rural Legal Services at 1-888-582-3410.

For more information, visit or


The Palm Beach County Department of Housing and Economic Sustainability is now offering the CARES Mortgage Assistance Program. The program is designed to offer temporary relief to homeowners through mortgage assistance of up to $10,000, which will be provided in the form of a grant. The CARES Act funding will provide assistance to income-eligible households that are delinquent in their first mortgage and escrow payments (PITI). Additionally, funding may assist with late fees, attorney’s fees, condominium and homeowners’ association payments, special assessments, and other mortgage-associated costs related to COVID-19.

Applicants must complete an online application by visiting between Monday, June 29, 2020 and Friday, August 14, 2020. Applications will be accepted on a first come, first qualified, first served basis, subject to funding availability. For more information, including complete program requirements and virtual training sessions, please visit


The Palm Beach County Community Services Department is offering a Rental Assistance Program beginning June 5. To be eligible for this program, applicants must:

  • Be a resident of Palm Beach County;
  • Provide documentation to prove loss of income, reduction in hours, or unemployment as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic;
  • Provide documentation to show they have applied for or are receiving state or federal unemployment benefits;
  • Meet gross Area Median Income (AMI) limit not exceeding 140% AMI for the household;
  • Have a lease and other utilities in their or a household member’s name;
  • Not have received any other financial assistance for rent and/or utilities for the period payment is requested;
  • Have less than $5,000 in liquid assets in checking, savings, and cash card balances;
  • Note – other restrictions may apply.

Benefits are available up to $7,000 ($5,800/up to 3 months’ rent and $1,200/electric, water and gas combined). Assistance will be provided only for past-due rent and/or utilities with due dates after March 1, 2020 and before December 30, 2020. 

For more information, including a list of FAQs, the link to apply, and more helpful information, please click here


Palm Beach County Adds Interactive Testing Map to COVID-19 Website

Palm Beach County has added an interactive testing map with over 50 testing sites and locations to the comprehensive COVID-19 website located here. This map will help residents find the closest private or community-based testing location for them. Several of the sites are government supported and have free testing with a variety of restrictions and processes. Many others are private labs, urgent care facilities or pharmacies that will bill your insurance.  

Palm Beach County Issues Guides For Safe Use Of Parks And Boats

Beginning April 29, some recreational facilities in Palm Beach County will be open. Others won’t. Those that will be open have restrictions. It can be a little confusing, but Palm Beach County has created convenient guides to help everyone safely enjoy our local parks and waters. Please click on the documents below for everything you need to know.

School Feeding Sites Change Distribution Dates And Times


Beginning this week, Palm Beach County School District feeding sites will serve meals on Tuesday and Thursday, rather than Monday, Wednesday and Friday. The number of meals distributed each week will not decrease. 


On Tuesday, April 28, ‘Grab and Go’ meals will be distributed at the regular 35 sites from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Two days’ worth of ‘Grab and Go’ meals will be distributed on Tuesday, April 28. Feeding South Florida will also be distributing boxes of food on Tuesday at a limited number of sites, including Lake Park Elementary


Beginning Thursday, April 30, the number of food distribution locations will increase to 51 schools across Palm Beach County. Meals will be distributed on Thursday from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Parents or guardians who pick up meals on Thursday will be picking up a kit with two meals for six days totaling 12 meals for each child.


Starting on Thursday, May 7, meals will be distributed on Thursdays only from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM at 51 locations. Again, parents or guardians who pick up meals on Thursdays will be picking up a kit with two meals for six days for a total of 12 meals for each child. The Thursday-only distribution schedule will continue until further notice.


Meals are FREE to anyone 18 years of age and under (22 years of age and younger for ESE students), regardless of financial need. A parent or guardian must be present when picking up food for their child.


Summer Food Service Program To Open Early To Feed Children Impacted By COVID-19

On April 27, Palm Beach County Youth Services Department's Summer Food Service Program, in partnership with the Palm Beach County Library System, will begin pre-summer feeding at six sites throughout Palm Beach County. Sites will distribute seven days' worth of meals to each eligible child.

Meal distribution will be available on Mondays and Wednesdays from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm, or until all meal kits are distributed. Currently, pre-summer feeding sites will distribute food once a week through Wednesday, May 27.

Parents picking up kits without their child present must bring identification for the child. Acceptable forms of identification include student ID, child's passport or other government-issued ID, birth certificate, adoption decree, immunization records, and school demographics. Meal kits will not be provided to parents who do not bring their child or do not provide proper identification.

Families without transportation may walk up to collect meal kits. Proper COVID-19 safety measures must be practiced by all families, including but not limited to social distancing and wearing facial coverings.

Monday Distribution:

  • Highridge Family Center, 4200 N. Australian Ave., West Palm Beach
  • Main Library, 3650 Summit Blvd, West Palm Beach
  • Greenacres Branch Library, 3750 Jog Road, Greenacres


Wednesday Distribution:

  • Belle Glade Branch Library, 725 NW 4th Street, Belle Glade
  • Loula V. York Branch Library, 525 Bacom Point Rd., Pahokee
  • Clarence E. Anthony Branch Library, 375 SW 2nd Ave., South Bay

Small Business Administration Expands Offerings During COVID-19 Crisis


As the COVID-19 pandemic engulfs the nation and businesses of all sizes continue to suffer financial losses, the Small Business Administration (SBA) has expanded its array of support offerings. These resources include a number of loan programs, guidance, and more. Information regarding the SBA’s Paycheck Protection Program, Economic Injury Disaster Loans and Loan Advance, SBA Express Bridge Loans, SBA Debt Relief, Guidance for Businesses and Employers, SBA Products and Resources, Government Contracting, and Local Assistance can be accessed by clicking here.


The Town of Lake Park is happy to provide our local business owners with information that may be helpful to them and their business operations, however it is important to note that the Town has no connection to, or influence on, the Small Business Administration. This information is being provided solely as a courtesy.

Sanitation Schedule Update -- Week of August 10

Sanitation Schedule For The Week Of August 10


Monday, August 10: Garbage can pickup

Monday, August 10 and Tuesday, August 11: Vegetation pickup will begin on Monday and be completed on Tuesday

Wednesday, August 12: Recycling pickup

Thursday, August 13: Garbage can pickup

Thursday, August 13 and Friday, August 14: Bulk trash pickup will begin on Thursday and be completed on Friday


While we will do our best to adhere to this schedule, please understand it is subject to change as circumstances evolve. We thank you for your continued patience and understanding during this challenging time.


Lake Park No Longer Able To Provide Assistance With 2020 Census Completion

It is incredibly important that every household complete the 2020 Census. While the Town of Lake Park had planned to provide assistance with completing the questionnaire to anyone who requested it, due to the ongoing COVID-19 health crisis that is no longer a possibility. We strongly encourage you to do your best to complete the 2020 Census on own because it does make a difference.